Team A Wins SSL 2020

Three teams went into the fifth and final round of the Saturday Afternoon/Sunday Morning League Phase II with a chance of topping the group.

Team C, starring Toshiharu Saito, Saori Hamada and Yasuhiro Kojima, sat on top of the table going into the morning’s games, but were up against a strong Team F still reeling from a last-end collapse v. Team A the previous week.

Team F, starring Makoto Honjo, Ippei Iwasaki and Toshi Kurosawa, made no mistake this time, crushing Team C by 14 points to 6.

Everything then depended on the outcome of the match between Team A (Alex Hendy, Yuko Sasaki, Motoko Tsuyama) and Team E (Hans Pauli, Hiroko Kojima, Yoko Ishiguro). Going into the final end, the match was tied at 10 points each with Team E in the ascendancy. On the neighboring rink, Team F began double checking their maths…

No need. Team A held their nerve and scored the one point necessary to claim victory and jump to the top of the table on WDL points scored.

With Team A also having won Phase I, no Final match would be necessary. Likewise, with Team F also having finished runner up in Phase I, no Third-place match would be necessary either.

Congratulations to us!

The A Team: Yuko, Motoko and Alex

Feel free to comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s